Fluorescent Nails

13 Aug

Many people have been wearing the fluorescent nail polishes, most of the time on their toe nails, for summer so I thought I would try it myself.

Tip: apply white nail polish first before the fluorescent paint, this will make the polish look brighter.

I wanted to add a design over the fluorescent nails because I felt it was a bit much just on it’s own, the colour doesn’t look quite the same in the pictures. The yellow is more of a bright orange in person. The abstract flowers didn’t turn out quite how I wanted, but I still like it!

How to get this look:

  1. base coat (China Glaze)
  2. white polish (Essie – Blanc) – 2 layers
  3. fluorescent colour (China Glaze – Sun Worshiper) – 2 layers
  4. using a flat art brush, dip in a dark colour (China Glaze – First Mate) and then in the fluorescent colour you had used, make stroke in a swirling motion from outward from a central point
  5. using a thinner art brush, dip in the white and a bit of the original fluorescent colour, roughly brush on top of the pedal

 

Polishes (from left to right): First Mate (China Glaze), Sun Worshiper(China Glaze), Blanc (Essie), Top Coat (OPI), Fast Dry Top Coat (Seche Vite), Base Coat (China Glaze)

 

For my one hand, I tried the OPI and the other I tried the Seche Vite top coat. The store clerk had been raving about the Seche Vite Top Coat and how it gives a great shine to your nails, but I found that it wasn’t any different from the OPI in terms of the shine. The quality of the Seche Vite was better because my nails were a lot smoother, even with the design, but for the price of $10, I don’t think it is worth it. I am sure any other top coat would work just as well.

Leave a Reply

