A Few Things

12 Apr

My nail polish collection is small, not tiny, but I wish I had more variety. I don’t even have all the colours, most of the time I have to mix the polishes. This is my collection after 1 year. I don’t have fancy tools, the fanciest thing I have are long thin brushes, honestly you can just use like a cheap thin paint brush. I doodle, practice, or test a design out to see if I like it on paper first. The sheet at the bottom middle of the third picture was something I used to keep a log of the different designs I came up with, so that in the future I could used one I had already done or one from my templates.

   

These were given to me from my aunt in Australia, which I have mentioned in my first post.  Anyways, my point is, work with what you have.  Of course there are some essentials that I would suggest having: black and white (of course), your favourite nail polish colours, clear top coat, a base coat (recently learned), and a thin brush (only if you want to do designs).

Mixing colours is totally fine, turns out and people don’t even know. I have been using paper, but switched to a plastic sheet so that it doesn’t absorb all my paint. For the longest time I didn’t have any green polish, except for “Mint Sorbet” (by Xtreme), but that was not a vibrant green that I usually want to use.  I’d mix blue and yellow, the green always came out a different shade since I’d wing it, but oh well I’d just go with it. The green from my “Go Canucks Go” nails (the post prior to this one) were mixed. For Christmas, my boyfriend bought multiple green nail polishes, nail art pens and crackle polish (which I will get into in later posts). I finally got green nail polish! It’s great, but I’m still mixing for green and other colours because you never have the exact shade you want, unless you have a collection of like 100 different nail polishes.

While I was experimenting with different things, I tried making sparkling nail polish. In my mind, it made sense to just add the desired sparkles to the paint colour you want, then mixing it together. No, do not do that haha. I ended up getting a granulated goop.  I learned that to get the effect, just paint your nails the colour you want and while the it’s still wet, sprinkle the sparkle on top.

  

Base Coat:

I only recently started using a base coat, didn’t ever use one cause I thought it’s a waste of money, but it does help to keep my polished nails lasting longer (not for weeks, but for several days). Also, it helps to prevent your nails from going yellow, which for those of you who paint their nails regularly, you know that that happens. For those who have not used a base coat, I suggest trying it. Although I’m sure everyone’s already using it, not like I’m discovering anything new in the universe, but it’s new to me.

 

The storage of your nail polishes and equipment doesn’t have to be fancy. I know many people have professional make-up/nail kits, like the OPI Nail Storage Box, but you really don’t need one. It’d probably be very nice to keep your polishes in them, but I think it’s a waste of money. I’d rather spend that money on polishes and supplies. I keep my nail stuff in a box, a shoe box is a bit big for my collection, I think shoe boxes are a great storage item. If you have lots of stuff, you can use multiple boxes and just stack them in the corner for storage.

Doing nails as a hobby doesn’t have to be expensive!

 

Leave a Reply

